Chinese New Year at Binondo Manila


Last Monday was crazy, my family decided to go to Binondo to just see how the Chinese spend their New Year. It was actually my first time and it was an experience. There were a lot of people, Chinese and Pinoy’s almost all of them wearing a red shirt. There were also a lot of policemen around, so somehow I feel “safe” taking out my digital camera. They were a lot of photographers taking pictures during the event.

C360_2012-01-23-15-15-08

C360_2012-01-23-15-15-17

DSCN6177

DSCN6178

                        Binondo Chruch

DSCN6179

DSCN6180

We bought Kiat Kiat, buying it here is much cheaper. When a friend and I went to Shopwise they sell their Kiat-Kiat for P75 a bag – ouch! The Chinese are just as religious as Christians are, in the photo below there’s a shrine that is covered with Sampaguita (The Philippine’s national flower), free incense is available per person for worship I guess. It’s crazy how some Filipino’s actually do this and I’m assuming they just make a wish and then place it in the pot. I saw on the wall that you have to say the prayer first and then place it in the pot. The Sampaguita is actually covering the wall so you could not see most of the words.

DSCN6183

DSCN6189

DSCN6196

DSCN6193

Aside from the shrine (or whatever you call it), there was another main attraction that caught the hearts of pet lovers and non pet lovers too. I’m sure this man was able to collect money that day. Who could resist? I even gave him P20.

DSCN6187

DSCN6188

   The owner and his dog

 

Other scenes around Binondo (China Town)…….

DSCN6198

DSCN6199

DSCN6203

    Me and and brother Kert

DSCN6205

Mom says they have the best Hopia, I also like their cuapao and siopao too

DSCN6206

DSCN6208

DSCN6209

DSCN6210

DSCN6211

DSCN6214

DSCN6215

DSCN6216

DSCN6219

DSCN6220

Mom got tired, even my brother, we decided to go to Greenbelt Makati to watch a movie – We Bought A Zoo. We would have eaten at one of those Chinese restaurants but almost all of them were full. I know it’s late to say this but, Belated Happy Chinese New Year~

Smile

Feel free to comment or post your insights

