El Pollo Loco

Revisiting: El Pollo Loco


I remember during my childhood years when my mom used to bring us to El Pollo Loco. I can’t recall whether it was in Greenbelt, but it was one of those food adventures that I haven’t forgotten up to date.

Last Saturday, I was in a chicken craving phase and my date and I decided to try something ‘new’. Well, more of new for him and me revisiting to find out if it has still remained the same.

El Pollo Loco

El Pollo Loco

I ordered the combo 1 which has chicken, rice and salsa which costs P190. I like that it comes with salsa instead of gravy, as it makes more ‘refreshing’. There is nothing extraordinary about the salsa though, it just tastes okay. As for the chicken, it slipped my mind to request for dark meat as the breast often tends to be dry. I know white meat is more healthier though.

Most of the time, the only 'juice' I would drink is the ever reliable CarbTrim.

Most of the time, the only ‘juice’ I would drink is the ever reliable CarbTrim.

My date’s order was a different kind of combo meal, which has chicken, your choice of two sides and tortilla. It costs around Php210, it also doesn’t come with drinks. There’s always serving water which is more healthier and also can cut cost of expenses.

The coleslaw tasted quite a lot like KFC's version, but more 'soupy'.

The coleslaw tasted quite a lot like KFC’s version, but more ‘soupy’.

It was a very filling dining experience yet again at El Pollo Loco. I’m not sure if I was brought back to when I tried it the first time, just like what Anton Ego [Ratatouille] experienced. But overall, I was happy to satiate my chicken craving that day.

To end this post, like I always say; “what is a meal without dessert?” Well, I didn’t really have this for dessert but their cupcakes were eye candy that I couldn’t help take a photo as soon as I saw it.

Cukay's Kiosk, found near the supermarket

Cukay’s Kiosk, found near the supermarket

 

Till my next food adventure!

🙂

Feel free to comment or post your insights

